A Decade of CS:GO Major Champions: 2013-2023

Posted on: and last updated at:
A Decade of CS:GO Major Champions: 2013-2023
Discover the complete list of CS:GO Major Champions from 2013 to 2023. Get insights into the winners, runners-up, prize pools, and dates of these prestigious esports tournaments.

After ten thrilling years of intense competition in the world of Counter-Strike: Global Offensive. This year was the last year of CS:GO majors and it's time to take a journey through the history of CS:GO major champions. From the inaugural DreamHack Winter 2013 to the recently concluded BLAST.tv Paris Major 2023, these tournaments have witnessed legendary battles, upsets, and moments that will forever be etched in the annals of esports. Let's delve into the list of CS:GO major champions from 2013 to 2023, highlighting the winners and runners-up in each event.

List of CS:GO Major Champions

CS:GO Major Date Prize Pool Total Teams Place Winner Runner-up
DreamHack Winter 2013 Nov 28 - 30, 2013 $250,000 16 Jönköping, Sweden Fnatic NiP
ESL Major Series One Katowice 2014 Mar 13 - 16, 2014 $250,000 16 Katowice Virtus.pro NiP
ESL One: Cologne 2014 Aug 14 - 17, 2014 $250,000 16 Cologne NiP Fnatic
DreamHack Winter 2014 Nov 27 - 29, 2014 $250,000 16 Jönköping, Sweden Team LDLC NiP
ESL One: Katowice 2015 Mar 12 - 15, 2015 $250,000 16 Katowice Fnatic NiP
ESL One: Cologne 2015 Aug 20 - 23, 2015 $250,000 16 Cologne Fnatic Envy
DreamHack Open Cluj⁠-⁠Napoca 2015 Oct 28 - Nov 01, 2015 $250,000 16 Cluj-Napoca Envy Natus Vincere
MLG Major Championship: Columbus 2016 Mar 29 - Apr 03, 2016 $1,000,000 16 Columbus LG Natus Vincere
ESL One: Cologne 2016 Jul 05 - 10, 2016 $1,000,000 16 Cologne SK Team Liquid
ELEAGUE Major Atlanta 2017 Jan 22 - 29, 2017 $1,000,000 16 Atlanta Astralis Virtus.pro
PGL Major Kraków 2017 Jul 16 - 23, 2017 $1,000,000 16 Kraków Gambit IMT
ELEAGUE Major Boston 2018 Jan 12 - 28, 2018 $1,000,000 23 Atlanta and Boston Cloud9 FaZe Clan
FACEIT Major: London 2018 Sep 05 - 23, 2018 $1,000,000 24 London Astralis Natus Vincere
Intel Extreme Masters XIII - Katowice Major 2019 Feb 13 - Mar 03, 2019 $1,000,000 24 Katowice Astralis ENCE
StarLadder Berlin Major 2019 Aug 23 - Sep 08, 2019 $1,000,000 24 Berlin Astralis AVG
ESL One: Rio Major 2020 Nov 09 - 22, 2020 $2,000,000 24 Rio de Janeiro Cancelled Cancelled
PGL Major Stockholm 2021 Oct 26 - Nov 07, 2021 $2,000,000 24 Stockholm NAVI G2 Esports
PGL Major Antwerp 2022 May 09 - 22, 2022 $1,000,000 24 Antwerp FaZe NAVI
Intel Extreme Masters Rio Major 2022 Oct 31 - Nov 13, 2022 $1,250,000 24 Rio de Janeiro Outsiders Heroic
BLAST.tv Paris Major 2023 May 08 - 21, 2023 $1,250,000 24 Paris Vitality GamerLegion


DreamHack Winter 2013:

The journey began in Jönköping, Sweden, at DreamHack Winter 2013. Sixteen elite teams battled it out for a prize pool of $250,000. In a gripping grand final, Fnatic emerged victorious, leaving behind formidable opponents NiP, who claimed the runner-up spot.

ESL Major Series One Katowice 2014:

The CS:GO spectacle continued in Katowice for the ESL Major Series One 2014. The event witnessed the rise of Virtus.pro, who triumphed over NiP in an epic showdown, securing their place as champions.

ESL One: Cologne 2014:

Cologne played host to another memorable major in 2014. The Swedish powerhouse NiP showcased their dominance, emerging as winners by defeating their fierce rivals, Fnatic, in a breathtaking final.

DreamHack Winter 2014:

Returning to Jönköping, DreamHack Winter 2014 delivered yet another unforgettable tournament. Team LDLC showcased their skills, triumphing over NiP in an exhilarating showdown to claim the championship.

ESL One: Katowice 2015:

Once again, Katowice set the stage for an exhilarating major championship. The indomitable Fnatic rose to the occasion, leaving their mark as they overcame NiP in a fierce battle to claim the prestigious title.

ESL One: Cologne 2015:

Cologne witnessed a clash of titans in 2015, with Fnatic and Envy battling for glory. Fnatic emerged victorious, securing their place in history as they celebrated yet another major championship.

DreamHack Open Cluj⁠-⁠Napoca 2015:

In Cluj-Napoca, Envy defied the odds and emerged as the victors, defeating Natus Vincere in a thrilling grand final clash.

MLG Major Championship:

Columbus 2016: Columbus took center stage for the first $1,000,000 major championship. Luminosity Gaming, now known as SK Gaming, etched their name in history, triumphing over Natus Vincere in an epic finale.

ESL One: Cologne 2016:

Cologne witnessed the Brazilian dominance of SK Gaming once again as they secured their second major championship by defeating Team Liquid in a hard-fought grand final.

ELEAGUE Major Atlanta 2017:

The iconic city of Atlanta played host to the ELEAGUE Major in 2017. Astralis emerged as the champions, defeating Virtus.pro in a memorable clash.

PGL Major Kraków 2017:

In Kraków, Gambit Esports emerged as the surprise champions, toppling Immortals in an intense grand final to claim their place at the top of the CS:GO world.

ELEAGUE Major Boston 2018:

Boston and Atlanta shared the stage as Cloud9 etched their name in CS:GO history. In an electrifying final against FaZe Clan, Cloud9 secured their place as the first North American team to win a major.

FACEIT Major: London 2018:

London bore witness to the dominance of Astralis, who overpowered Natus Vincere in the grand final to claim their second major championship.

Intel Extreme Masters XIII - Katowice Major 2019:

Katowice once again served as the battleground for an intense major championship. Astralis continued their reign, emerging as champions by defeating ENCE in a thrilling final clash.

StarLadder Berlin Major 2019:

Berlin witnessed Astralis solidify their legacy by securing their third major championship. They overcame AVG in a hard-fought grand final to reaffirm their dominance.

ESL One: Rio Major 2020:

Unfortunately, the Rio de Janeiro major scheduled for 2020 fell victim to the COVID-19 pandemic. Despite organizers' efforts, the event was ultimately canceled, leaving the CS:GO community eagerly awaiting a safe return for the next major.

PGL Major Stockholm 2021:

Stockholm became the center of CS:GO excitement in 2021 as NAVI claimed the championship. They defeated G2 Esports in an intense grand final, showcasing their prowess on the big stage.

PGL Major Antwerp 2022:

Antwerp hosted an exhilarating major, with FaZe Clan emerging victorious. NAVI, their formidable opponents, put up a valiant fight, but FaZe Clan's performance secured them the championship.

Intel Extreme Masters Rio Major 2022:

In Rio de Janeiro, the Outsiders defied all expectations, defeating Heroic in the grand final to claim the major championship. The event marked a thrilling upset in the CS:GO landscape.

BLAST.tv Paris Major 2023:

In the most recent major held in Paris, Vitality rose to the occasion, showcasing their skills and defeating GamerLegion in the grand final to become the champions.

From the early battles of Fnatic and NiP to the recent triumphs of Vitality and GL, the CS:GO majors have provided fans with unforgettable moments. As we turn our gaze towards the horizon of CS2 and the dawn of a new chapter, the PGL Major Copenhagen 2024 stands as a beacon of anticipation. The forthcoming major promises to deliver electrifying battles, intense rivalries, and memorable moments as the world's elite teams vie for supremacy. Copenhagen, with its rich culture and passionate esports community, will set the stage for this grand spectacle. The journey continues, and with each passing major, the legacy of Counter-Strike: Global Offensive grows ever stronger. Get ready to witness the evolution of greatness and the birth of new legends in the exciting era of CS2 majors.